clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

England Women's National Team named squad for World Cup qualifier

New, 2 comments

The Three Lionesses will face Montenegro in their quest to secure a ticket to Canada for next year's FIFA Women's World Cup.

The Women's national team has named the squad that will face Montenegro for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers on April 5th. For coach Mark Sampson this will be his first time taking charge of the national team in the World Cup qualifier, having replaced Hope Powell on December 2013. The squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Siobhan Chamberlain (Arsenal), Mary Earps (Birmingham City), Carly Telford (Notts County)

Defenders: Alex Scott (Arsenal), Sophie Bradley (Notts County), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Gemma Bonner (Liverpool), Lucy Bronze (Liverpool), Demi Stokes (University of South Florida, USA), Alex Greenwood (Everton), Laura Bassett (Chelsea), Casey Stoney (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Anita Asante (LdB Malmo), Karen Carney (Birmingham City), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Fara Williams (Liverpool), Jade Moore (Birmingham City)

Forwards: Ellen White (Notts County), Eniola Aluko (Chelsea), Toni Duggan (Manchester City), Natasha Dowie (Liverpool), Kelly Smith (Arsenal), Lianne Sanderson (Boston Breakers, USA)

The names called for the match against Montenegro is mostly the same from the squad that competed in The Cyprus Cup, with the exception of Mary Earps and Casey Stoney. Stoney, England's skipper, was sidelined during the Cyprus Cup due to recovery from foot operation.

The Three Lionesses is currently top of their qualification group (group 6), with 4 wins out of 4 games, having scored 20 goals while conceding no goals. All seven group winners will automatically qualify for the final tournament, with the remaining 4 best runner-ups will then play in a series of play-off matches to complete UEFA's 8 representative to the World Cup. The World Cup will be held between 6th June to 5th July next year.